Saturday, June 14, 2014

Tim Bowness: Track-by-track

Metalnews Power of
Tim Bowness is set to release his forthcoming second solo album ‘Abandoned Dancehall Dreams’ on the 23rd June 2014 in Europe and 8th July 2014 in US, and in advance he will be launching a video dedicated to each track on the album. The first video sees Tim talking through the ideas behind the opening track ‘The Warm-Up Man Forever’ and you can view that here:

More clips to be revealed through the artist’s and the label’s social media site within the next couple of days. Check and for more.

You can also check out the official music video for ‘The Warm-Up Man Forever’ directed by Miles Skarin of Crystal Spotlight Design, whose previous work includes visuals for The Pineapple Thief and Ian Anderson/Jethro Tull. View that here:

Prog Magazine have already proclaimed ADD to be ‘arch art-progger Bowness’s masterpiece…and a contender as the triumph of 2014.’

The record will be released as Limited Edition 2CD Digipak, 180g Gatefold LP (incl. album on CD) & digital download and the beautiful cover art can be found above.

The full track-listing is as follows:
1. The Warm-Up Man Forever
2. Smiler At 50
3. Songs Of Distant Summers
4. Waterfoot
5. Dancing For You
6. Smiler At 52
7. I Fought Against The South
8. Beaten By Love

Bonus Disc
1. There Were Days (Smiler At 52, Grasscut Mix)
2. Sounds Of Distant Summers (Songs Of Distant Summers, Richard Barbieri Mix)
3. Singing For You (Dancing For You, UXB Mix)

4. Abandoned Dancehall Dream
5. The Sweetest Bitter Pill
6. The Warm-Up Man Forever (Band Version)
7. Songs Of Distant Summers Part 1 (BandVersion)
8. Songs Of Distant Summers Part 2 (Band Version)

Tim has also announced two UK shows for July where he will perform with his band Henry Fool, playing tracks from the new solo album, as well as No-Man and Henry Fool material. Those dates can be found below:

11th July - Borderline, London, UK TICKETS:
12th July – The Wesley Centre, Maltby, UK TICKETS:
11th September - Cultuurpodium Boerderij, Zoetermeer, The Netherlands TICKETS:

‘Abandoned Dancehall Dreams’ was produced by Bowness and mixed by Steven Wilson. It also features performances from Pat Mastelotto (King Crimson), Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), Anna Phoebe (Trans-Siberian Orchestra) and members of the No-Man live band (Stephen Bennett, Michael Bearpark, Pete Morgan, Steven Wilson, Andrew Booker and Steve Bingham).

Tim Bowness is primarily known as vocalist/co-writer with the band No-Man, a long-running collaboration with Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree). In addition to releasing six studio albums and a documentary DVD with No-Man, Tim has worked with popular Italian artist Alice, Robert Fripp, Hugh Hopper (Soft Machine), OSI and Roxy Music's Phil Manzanera (amongst many others), and is a member of the bands Henry Fool and Memories Of Machines.


No comments:

Post a Comment