Thursday, August 14, 2014

"Spiritual Healing" released on vinyl

Metalnews Power of

Relapse Records is proud to announce the deluxe vinyl reissue of DEATH’s landmark, genre-defining album Spiritual Healing. Originally released in 1990, Spiritual Healing marked a new turn in the DEATH discography, one which ushered in cleaner production, a new level of boundary pushing musicianship and songwriting skills that were previously unimaginable from a metal band. Spiritual Healing sets the standard for riffs, insane time changes and of course mainman Chuck Schuldiner’s masterful guitar solos. Previously remastered and reissued on deluxe 2CD and limited edition 3CD in the Fall of 2013, this definitive version is now available on vinyl for the first time ever.

Spiritual Healing will see it’s vinyl reissue as a single LP, limited edition picture disc, and super limited deluxe 2xLP box set on September 30th in North America, September 29th in the UK/Europe and September 26th in Germany/Benelux/Finland.

Pre-orders along with a new line of Spiritual Healing merch are available at this location while a trailer detailing the vinyl packaging can be viewed on YouTube here or on Dailymotion here.

The LP features liner notes from DEATH players James Murphy and Terry Butler, Chuck’s sister Beth Schuldiner and Volbeat frontman Michael Poulsen. The single LP features a completely new remaster of the original album and the second LP (available exclusively in the box set) contains 9 rehearsals and outtakes never before pressed on vinyl. The single LP and picture disc contain a digital download for both discs of the 2CD reissue while the double LP box set includes an exclusive pin, LP sized felt slipmat, double sided album art poster, 4 panel LP insert, and a digital download of the remastered 3CD version. The entire remastered 3 Disc release can be streamed via Bandcamp here and a full tracklisting is included below.

Spiritual Healing LP tracklisting:

LP 1:
Spiritual Healing - Remastered
1 Living Monstrosity
2 Altering The Future
3 Defensive Personalities
4 Within The Mind
5 Spiritual Healing
6 Low Life
7 Genetic Reconstruction
8 Killing Spree

LP 2: (Deluxe edition only)
Spiritual Healing - Rehearsals
1 Altering The Future
2 Defensive Personalities
3 Within The Mind
4 Within The Mind - Take 2
5 Spiritual Healing
6 Killing Spree
Joke / Jam tracks
7 Satanic Jam
8 Primus Jam
9 Jon a Qua - Take 2

Bonus digital songs:

Spiritual Healing - Rehearsals 

01 Altering The Future
02 Defensive Personalities
03 Within The Mind
04 Within The Mind - Take 2
05 Spiritual Healing
06 Killing Spree
Spiritual Healing - Studio instrumentals
07 Defensive Personalities
08 Spiritual Healing
09 Within The Mind
Joke / Jam tracks
10 Satanic Jam
11 Primus Jam
12 Jon a Qua - Take 2
13 Jon a Qua - Take 3
14 Jon a Qua - Take 4
15 Jon a Qua - Take 5
16 Jon a Qua - Take 6

Deluxe 2xLP bonus digital tracks:

Live at Streets, New Rochelle, NY March 17th, 1990
01 Living Monstrosity
02 Pull The Plug
03 Zombie Ritual
04 Spiritual Healing
05 Left To Die
06 Defensive Personalities
07 Genetic Reconstruction
08 Open Casket
09 Within The Mind
10 Leprosy
Unearthed pre-Human rehearsals
11 Suicide Machine
12 Together As One
13 See Through Dreams
14 Suicide Machine - Unearthed Version 2
15 Suicide Machine - Unearthed Version 3
16 Suicide Machine - Unearthed Version 4
17 Together As One - Unearthed Version 1
18 See Through Dreams - Unearthed Version 2

For additional information on DEATH, visit the official DEATH archival website or Facebook page.

No comments:

Post a Comment