Monday, September 29, 2014

Soen premiere new video clip

Metalnews Power of
Progressive masters SOEN have today unveiled a brand new video, for the first track to be revealed from their upcoming sophomore album Tellurian, set for release on November 3rd via Spinefarm Records.

Soen guitarist & producer Kim Platbarzdis says: “It is finally time for the first video from our forthcoming second album ‘Tellurian’ to surface. The video features the song ‘Tabula Rasa’, and gives a glimpse into our common frustrations with the world, the way it’s run today and how the effects of it exclude no one...”
Directed by Kirke Ailio Rodwell, whose work displays a flair for style, attention to detail and one-of-a-kind perspective, the video for Tabula Rasa is available to view here on Vevo.

Kirke adds: “In a way, the video summarises life, with its moments of zest & sadness. It was such a great experience to work with Soen who trusted me and my team to capture the extremes of life. They are talented musicians and have visions that closely coincide with my own – which is rare and truly special for me.”
Tellurian track listing:
01. Komenco
02. Tabula Rasa
03. Kuraman
04. The Words
05. Pluton
06. Koniskas
07. Ennui
08. Void
09. The Other’s Fall

About SOEN:
SOEN – that’s drummer Martin Lopez (ex-Opeth, Amon Amarth), vocalist Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree), guitarist Joakim Platbarzdis & bassist Stefan Stenberg – are not concerned with the simple or the shallow; their musical journey takes an altogether more ambitious path, and the result is an expansive body of work, wrapped up in the stunning art of Mexican painter José Luis López Galván, that consistently challenges without being ‘clever-clever’ or tough to enjoy.

Produced by Platbarzdis, mixed by the legendary / Grammy Award-winning David Bottrill (Tool, Smashing Pumpkins, Muse, King Crimson, etc.) and mastered at Bob Ludwig’s Gateway set-up in the US by Adam Ayan, also a Grammy winner, ‘Tellurian’ sees SOEN taking the approach of their ‘Cognitive’ debut (2012, Spinefarm Records) and pushing the boundaries in terms of musical scope, the whole thing shot through with the confidence of a band who have found their voice.

No comments:

Post a Comment