Thursday, October 16, 2014

While Heaven Wept - Track-by-track

Metalnews Power of
Virginia's long running epic metal legends are commemorating their 25th year with the release of their sixth full length album »Suspended At Aphelion« via Nuclear Blast this October.

Today the band releases the first track-by-track trailer on »Suspended At Aphelion«.

Check out the clip here:

The international media already praises the album as the following quotes display:

“»Suspended At Aphelion«... is just the best album this band ever recorded und so much more than „just” Heavy Metal. This is a great, truly moving piece of art.”
DEAF FOREVER (D), Michael Kohsiek

„With their ever so soothing mix WHILE HEAVEN WEPT once again reach a level of transcendence that embraces great musicianship and that will prove its greatness through the ages with its great versatility.”
METAL HAMMER (D), Katrin Riedl

"With elements of traditional heavy metal and grandiose doom colliding amid bewildering showers of twinkling, lysergic magic, the Americans are one of modern metal’s most unique phenomena."
The Guardian (UK), Dom Lawson

"As one might expect, it’s a thoroughly epic, almost cinematic affair that seamlessly blends the best of prog, melodic doom, and power metal. The album revels in its theatricality, its baroque orchestration and rippling leads polished to a fine sheen. The overall effect is nothing short of triumphant."
Pitchfork (US), Kim Kelly

„All in themselves ravishing epic pieces put together to one beautiful Metal album. To fully enjoy this enchanting masterpiece in all its beauty, one has to write a book on it.”

„With their individual blend of epic progressive metal, not only do they cross any genre boundaries, but deliver a full load of hopelessness, anxiety and feelings of isolation.”

“WHILE HEAVEN WEPT's Opus Magnum: progressive, dramatic, emotional.”
HAMMER OF DOOM (D), Oliver Weinsheimer

About WHILE HEAVEN WEPT’s latest album (comprised of a single track divided into 11 parts), guitarist & songwriter Tom Phillips has previously stated: “We all have dreams, aspirations, and desires. Most of us pursue them with passion... with all the strength, faith, and hope that we can find inside of ourselves. Unfortunately, sometimes this isn't enough, and we ultimately have to come to terms with that which is unreachable. »Suspended At Aphelion« is the story of one such dream, but it will resonate differently for each listener. We all have our suns that remain untouchable.”

More on »Suspended At Aphelion«:
Trailer #1:
Trailer #2:
Trailer #3:
Trailer #4:
‘Souls In Permafrost’ lyric video:

The cover art for »Suspended At Aphelion« was once again created by Gustavo Sazes (MORBID ANGEL, ARCH ENEMY etc.), and three separate audio masters were optimized for LP, CD, and digital download formats.

»Suspended At Aphelion« is undoubtedly their most ambitious, epic, and progressive album so far featuring a single track divided into 11 parts, performed by the entire »Fear Of Infinity« line-up as well as several esteemed guests, including FATES WARNING alumni drummer Mark Zonder and co-founding guitarist Victor Arduini - uniting two eras of FATES WARNING for the first time ever.

Enjoy the lyric video for ‘Icarus And I’ here:

»Suspended At Aphelion« tracklisting:
I: Introspectus
II: Icarus And I
III: Ardor
IV: Heartburst
V: Indifference Turned Paralysis
VI: The Memory Of Bleeding
VII: Souls In Permafrost
VIII: Searching The Stars
IX: Reminiscence Of Strangers
X: Lifelines Lost
XI: Retrospectus

WHILE HEAVEN WEPT also reunited with producer/engineer Kevin "131" Gutierrez (RAVEN, DECEASED, DYSRHYTHMIA) at Assembly Line Studios for the recording of »Suspended At Aphelion« 12 years after creating their classic »Of Empires Forlorn« album together, solidifying an already strong team for their most epic of epics!

»Suspended At Aphelion« will be released by Nuclear Blast on October 24th (EU) and November 18th (USA). 

No comments:

Post a Comment