Monday, May 11, 2015

Obsidian Kingdom release Nirvana cover song

Metalnews Power of
OBSIDIAN KINGDOM have released a cover version of the NIRVANA classic "Breed" taken from the grunge heroes' sophomore album 'Nevermind'. The track, which is streaming here, was produced on request of Spain's leading webzine in matters of hard music, RockZone as a contribution to the compilation 'Bipolar Sessions #2on the occasion of this year's Record Store Day.
OBSIDIAN KINGDOM comment: "As so many kids from the nineties, one of the things that made us break into playing an instrument was receiving a mixtape from the weird guy at school that featured the very best of alternative rock, from ALICE IN CHAINS to TOOL and from MARILYN MANSON to SOUNDGARDEN, which had us desperately falling in love with rock music.

"When RockZone offered us to participate in the second edition of their 'Bipolar Sessions', we felt like those kids again, and hurried back to our garage to remove the dust from our old distortion pedals.

"We have always had a huge penchant for NIRVANA, especially in their noisiest, and we have chosen 'Breed' because it is the perfect pop song with all the punk rage and teenage angst that we loved so deep back in the day."
Season of Mist previously re-issued OBSIDIAN KINGDOM's originally self-released first full-length ‘Mantiis – An Agony in Fourteen Bites’, which artwork and track list can be seen below. The album is still available via the Season of Mist shop. The band are currently working on their second album.
Two video clips were released in support of 'Mantiis': "Fingers in Anguish" , which can be watched here and "Ball Room", which is streaming there.

OBSIDIAN KINGDOM play hard-to-classify heavy music with plenty of contrasts. Their main features are the use of multiple sound resources in order to portray a wide range of emotions; a deep interest for aesthetics and the mise-en-scène; and the sombre and cryptic quality of their lyrical topics. Defying both tradition and their Black Metal origins, OBSIDIAN KINGDOM tread their own path in an untiring search for their own unique style, aside from conventions or style boundaries.

"OBSIDIAN KINGDOM are no longer an independent band", the group commented on their signing to Season of Mist. "We have come to this hard resolution having one and only one thing in mind: to keep making music for you. Because we want you to know about us if you don't already. We want to be able to play in your town or very near. We want you to spin our records without having to pay inflated shipping prices. And we would rather invest our limited and valuable human resources in making music, not in bureaucracy.

Season of Mist is one of the biggest, strongest and longest-lived independent labels that we know. It is certainly home to legends such as MORBID ANGEL, MAYHEM and CYNIC, but what makes it so attractive for us to be part of the family is the way they respect and support the aesthetical identity and artistic ideas of the bands they work with. On top of everything else, they are devoted music lovers just like ourselves.

And from now on, we will be working side by side to bring our music to your ears in the best and most efficient way possible, starting with the long-time demanded re-issue of our debut album, ‘Mantiis’, which will happen in the autumn. In the meantime, we are already writing more music for you to bask in... Wish us luck on this brave step, and we will repay you a thousand-fold!" 

  1.     Not Yet Five
  2.     Oncoming Dark
  3.     Through The Glass
  4.     Cinnamon Balls
  5.     The Nurse
  6.     Answers Revealing
  7.     Last Of The Light
  8.     Genteel To Mention
  9.     Awake Until Dawn
  10.     Haunts Of The Underworld
  11.     Endless Wall
  12.     Fingers In Anguish
  13.     Ball-Room
  14.     And Then It Was

No comments:

Post a Comment