Thursday, June 11, 2015

Floor stream live footage

Metalnews Power of
FLOOR have released new live footage shot during their recent US tour at The Bottle Tree in Birmingham, Alabama. Filmed by regional television show We Have Signal, the revived stoner rock trio headed by TORCHE frontman Steve Brooks also features in an in-depth interview. The station's stream can viewed here.

FLOOR are back stateside from their first-ever European tour, which included the cult act performing at prestigious festivals such as Roadburn in Tilburg, Netherlands, London's Desert Fest in the UK, and Germany's Doom over Leipzig, among a string of celebrated regular shows.

FLOOR have been touring in support of their current album 'Oblation', which was released April 25th of 2014.

'Oblation' is still available in various formats through the Season of Mist
shop and streaming in full here.

Artwork and tracklist can be viewed below:

1. Oblation
2. Rocinante
3. Trick Scene
4. Find Away
5. The Key
6. New Man
7. Sister Sophia
8. The Quill
9. Love Comes Crushing
10. War Party
11. Homegoings and Transitions
12. Sign of Aeth
13. Raised to a Star
14. Forever Still

FLOOR are back. The trio formed in 1992 achieved legendary status with only one full-length, their self-titled debut album "Floor" (2002) and despite splitting two years later. Their first line-up consisted of guitarist and vocalist Steve Brooks, Anthony Vialon on guitar and bass, and drummer Betty Monteavaro. The latter was replaced by Jeff Sousa in 1993, while Brooks and Vialon dropped the bass in favour of two low-tuned guitars. This line-up released several cult vinyl 7" EPs until a first break-up in 1996. The guitarists returned with Henry Wilson on drums for one show in 1997. Following hard on the heels of KYUSS, FLOOR are brothers in spirit to the desert rock feeling of shimmering heat, the pound and stomp of heavy engines, and a burning taste of diesel in the air. After breaking up again, Steve Brooks moved on and formed TORCHE with massive success. Yet the guitarist and singer still agreed to a reunion tour in 2010 to celebrate the release of "Below & Beyond", which encompassed the trio’s complete material until that point in an 8-CD/10-LP box set. Heavily enjoying the experience and further fuelled by the exponentially grown following during their hiatus, FLOOR decided to record a new album. Now "Oblation" picks up where "Floor" left off more than ten years ago. Adding a dose of doom and a dash of drone, the new album crushes with a powerful production. CONVERGE guitarist Kurt Ballou mixed the album at GodCity Studios (TORCHE, KVELERTAK, HIGH ON FIRE) and the mastering was done by Alan Douches (BARONESS, BLACK TUSK, MOTÖRHEAD). Lean back, crank up and sacrifice to the gods of stoner rock with this mighty "Oblation".

Anthony Vialon: guitar
Henry Wilson: drums
Steve Brooks: vocals, guitar

Style: Stoner Rock

No comments:

Post a Comment